An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

AbundanceKatherines

review-starsreview-starsreview-stars

I picked up An Abundance of Katherines after a friend suggested it to me. I went in kind of knowing what I should expect because I had previously read Looking for Alaska, also by John Green. An Abundance of Katherines tells the story of Colin Singleton’s romantic adventures and costars his best friend Hassan and a new friend, Lindsey.

An Abundance of Katherines started out quite slow for me, as I found the main character, Colin, to be somewhat annoying. He is a child prodigy who enjoys anagrams and has recently graduated high school and been dumped for the 19th time by a girl named Katherine. Although his predicament of being dumped by a high school sweet heart whom he loved fiercely and, perhaps, immaturely is definitely a universal situation to which the reader can relate, I still found myself poking holes in Colin’s character. One thing that particularly angered me was the rate at which Colin got over his loss of “Katherine XIX” and began exploring other romantic options despite his self-proclaimed love of his ex-girlfriend. But, I suppose, this could be something that only I would find bothersome.

I think that this book is a good read if you have nothing else on your list, but there was nothing really surprising or unpredictable about the novel. The only aspect of the book that was quite intriguing was Green’s inclusion of Colin’s formula project that he works on throughout the novel and helps define Colin’s character as a child prodigy. The formula is Colin’s way of relating romantic relationships to a mathematically defined line and, if the reader so desired, could be used in real life. I actually might try to plug in some of my own variables myself.

Overall, I’m not ranting and raving about this book but it was entertaining and, as expected, Green’s ability to simultaneously present young romance, heartbreak, and humor is much appreciated.

This entry was posted in Fiction, Three Star and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

  1. Pingback: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green « What Not to Read

Leave a Reply

